SAP MONITORING

Especially at the end of a major failure, responsible parties often ask about measures that would have prevented it. Especially in the context of service level agreements, well-designed monitoring is of particular importance in order to provide transparency.

Identifying the source of the problem is one goal of monitoring. Above all, the problem itself should be identified and remedied as early as possible so that no damage is done. Once the cause has been identified, future problems can be avoided in the future thanks to the know-how learned.

Monitoring is also used for planning purposes. For example, if CPU utilization was always at a very low level, adjustments can be made to hardware components.

What monitoring approaches are available?

Monitoring concepts must be planned at different levels, and a hybrid solution has proven to be the best variant. In the following, we would like to briefly introduce the different approaches.

  • Single-Point-Observing

Individual configuration items (CIs) are monitored; these can be physical servers or web services, for example. Interactions with other CIs are not simulated. This is different with end-to-end monitoring.

  • End-to-end monitoring

Here, an IT process is monitored that is made available to the business departments. Individual process steps are supported by different platforms, infrastructures and applications. Each department has to identify or define its own error hotspots and thresholds. Not only must the identification and alerting be planned, but also the rapid troubleshooting in the event of a fault.

  • Combination of both methods

If a hybrid solution of both approaches is used, a fast identification of the cause is given. Within the framework of end-to-end monitoring, the source of the fault can be precisely determined. Using single-point observing, various CIs of the process step can now be monitored and the exact cause of the error source can be identified.

Avoiding outages with intelligent monitoring

Correcting malfunctions before they occur is the essential point of day-to-day business. Alerting coordinated with monitoring ensures smooth processes and precise planning. Resources (e.g. personnel) can be planned in advance in this way. Only if the source of the error and its cause are known can malfunctions be quickly corrected and failures avoided. The initial outlay for setting up a monitoring concept may seem high at first, but the numerous benefits quickly put the costs into perspective.

Implementation & Support

As a long-time certified SAP Gold Partner and SAP Partner Center of Expertise, we are happy to support you and provide you with future-proof and individual advice. We see ourselves as a partner at eye level and are always at your side with experienced consultants.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu abilis GmbH IT-Services & Consulting

SAP MONITORING

Warum ist SAP Monitoring so wichtig?

Gerade am Ende einer größeren Störung fragen Verantwortliche oft nach Maßnahmen, die eine solche verhindert hätte. Besonders auch im Rahmen von Service Level Agreements ist ein gut konzipiertes Monitoring von besonderer Bedeutung, um Transparenz zu vermitteln.

Die Ermittlung der Fehlerquelle ist ein Ziel des Monitorings. Vor allem das Problem selbst soll möglichst frühzeitig erkannt und behoben werden, so dass keine Schäden entstehen. Nachdem die Ursache identifiziert wurde, lassen sich zukünftige Probleme durch das gelernte Know-how zukünftig vermeiden.

Monitoring wird aber auch zu Planungszwecken herangezogen. War beispielsweise die CPU-Auslastung stets auf einem sehr geringen Niveau, lassen sich Anpassungen an Hardware-Komponenten durchführen.

Welche Monitoring-Ansätze gibt es?

Monitoring-Konzepte müssen auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen geplant werden, eine Hybrid-Lösung hat sich hierbei als beste Variante herausgestellt. Im Folgenden möchten wir Ihnen die verschiedenen Ansätze kurz vorstellen.

Single-Point-Observing

Einzelne Configuration Items (CIs) werden überwacht; dies können etwa physikalische Server oder Webservices sein. Interaktionen mit anderen CIs werden nicht simuliert. Dies ist beim End-to-End-Monitoring anders.

End-to-End-Monitoring

Hierbei wird ein IT-Prozess überwacht, der den Fachbereichen zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Einzelne Prozessschritte werden dabei von unterschiedlichen Plattformen, Infrastrukturen und Applikationen unterstützt. Jeder Bereich muss hierbei selbst Fehlerschwerpunkte und Schwellenwerte ermitteln bzw. definieren. Nicht nur das Identifizieren und der Alert müssen geplant werden, sondern auch die schnelle Fehlerbehebung im Falle einer Störung.

Kombination beider Methoden

Wird eine Hybrid-Lösung beider Ansätze gefahren, ist eine schnelle Identifikation der Ursache gegeben. Im Rahmen des End-to-End-Monitoring lässt sich die Fehlerquelle exakt bestimmen. Mittels Single-Point-Observing lassen sich nun diverse CIs des Prozessschrittes überwachen und so exakt die Ursache der Fehlerquelle identifizieren.

Ausfälle vermeiden mit intelligentem Monitoring

Störungen zu beheben, bevor es zu Ausfällen kommt, ist das A und O im Unternehmensalltag. Ein auf das Monitoring abgestimmte Alerting sorgt für reibungslose Abläufe und exakte Planungen. Ressourcen (z. B. Personal) lässt sich auf diese Weise vorausschauend planen. Nur, wenn Fehlerquelle und Ursache bekannt sind, können Störungen schnell behoben und Ausfälle vermieden werden. Der Initial-Aufwand für die Einrichtung eines Monitoring-Konzeptes mag zunächst hoch erscheinen, die zahlreichen Vorteile relativieren die Kosten allerdings schnell.

Einführung & Unterstützung

Als langjähriger zertifizierter SAP Gold Partner und SAP Partner Center of Expertise unterstützen wir Sie gerne und beraten Sie zukunftssicher und individuell. Wir verstehen uns als Partner auf Augenhöhe und stehen Ihnen mit erfahrenen Beratern jederzeit zur Seite.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu abilis GmbH IT-Services & Consulting