SAP BUSINESS CONNECTOR

SAP Business Connector (BC)

What is SAP Business Connector?

With the SAP Business Connector, SAP ERP systems can be connected to other SAP ERP and non-SAP environments. This enables the integration of different (even non-SAP) applications and technologies via open standards.

How does the SAP BC work?

The following functions are included in the Business Connector:

Calling methods from SAP applications: Via XML-based and generated Business Connector Services, BAPIs can be executed. The possible BAPIs can be accessed via SAP Interface Repository.

Calling methods from non-SAP applications: Third-party applications outside the SAP system can use the BAPIs via the SAP Business Connector and thus execute methods synchronously or asynchronously on the SAP server.

Using Remote Function Calls: The RFC server and client included in the SAP Business Connector can be used to access all SAP functionality via remote function calls (RFCs). The BC enables bidirectional communication with the SAP system for this purpose. For SAP-independent communication, the RFC format is first converted to HTML or XML and can then communicate with external systems that do not support the RFC protocol or other SAP data formats.

B2B integration: If the SAP server uses the BC, the infrastructure can be extended to enable B2B integration between business partners. The routing of SAP documents (IDoc) can be customized as desired. This makes it possible to send IDocs to other SAP systems or web addresses (e.g. via e-mail, HTTP or XML). It is also possible to exchange IDoc data via Application Link Enabling (ALE). IDocs can also be modified in the SAP Business Connector.

What features does the SAP Business Connector combine?

Thanks to the SAP Business Connector (BC), communication via interfaces between SAP and non-SAP systems is now possible. Functions can be accessed via the included library. The SAP Business Connector does not require licensing costs or large system resources. All functions used via BAPI and IDocs can be made available as secure XML-based services.

This allows different IT architectures or software solutions (such as the CPQ software calcIT) to be connected, processes to be optimized, and the efficiency of the entire supply chain to be increased.

What are possible application scenarios for the SAP Business Connector?

  • Exchange of data between SAP and non-SAP systems (e.g. via HTTP(S), FTP or e-mail)
  • Access to data sources on the Internet from the SAP system
  • Transmission of payroll tax returns and statements to the tax office (e.g. Elster)

How secure is the SAP Business Connector?

With the SAP Business Connector, two different concepts intertwine, thus ensuring security. External partners are integrated via reverse invoke. Network connections are made exclusively from the intranet (protected network). In addition, the Business Connector supports the Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) and client certificates. Via LDAP, encrypted communication between server and client is possible using Transport Layer Security Protocol (TLS). Furthermore, secure authentication is performed under LDAP using the Simple Authentication and Security Layer (SASL).

SAP Business Connector (BC) from 31.12.2020 – migration necessary

According to SAP Note 1094412, support for the SAP Business Connector will end on 31 December 2020, which means that the use of SAP ERP or SAP HANA after 31 December, 2020 should be well thought out, since companies will need to take care of Business Connector migration in time. Alternatives may include local solutions as well as managed solutions (e.g. EDI). SAP itself offers SAP Process Integration (SAP PI) or SAP Process Orchestration (SAP PO), a newer middleware platform for connecting an SAP system with non-SAP systems. However, the use of this platform is subject to a fee.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu abilis GmbH IT-Services & Consulting

SAP BUSINESS CONNECTOR

SAP Business Connector (BC)

Was ist der SAP Business Connector?

Mit dem SAP Business Connector können SAP ERP-Systeme an andere SAP ERP- und Non-SAP-Umgebungen angebunden werden. Dadurch wird die Integration unterschiedlicher (auch SAP-fremder) Anwendungen und Technologien über offene Standards ermöglicht.

Wie funktioniert der SAP BC?

Folgende Funktionen sind im Business Connector enthalten:

  • Methoden von SAP-Anwendungen aufrufen: Per XML-basierter und erzeugter Business Connector Services lassen sich BAPIs ausführen. Über die möglichen BAPIs kann via SAP Interface Repository zugegriffen werden.
  • Methoden von Non-SAP-Anwendungen aufrufen: Drittanwendungen außerhalb des SAP-Systems können über den SAP Business Connector die BAPIs nutzen und so Methoden synchron oder asynchron auf dem SAP-Server ausführen.
  • Remote Function Calls nutzen: Der im SAP Business Connector enthaltenen RFC-Server und Client kann genutzt werden, um die gesamte SAP Funktionalität über Remote Function Calls (RFCs) zu nutzen. Der BC ermöglicht hierfür die bidirektionale Kommunikation mit dem SAP-System. Für eine SAP-unabhängige Kommunikation wird das RFC-Format zunächst in HTML oder XML umgewandelt und kann dann auch mit externen Systemen kommunizieren, die das RFC-Protokoll oder andere SAP-Datenformate nicht unterstützen.
  • B2B-Integration: Nutzt der SAP-Server den BC, kann die Infrastruktur so erweitert werden, dass die B2B-Integration zwischen Geschäftspartnern möglich wird. Das Routing von SAP-Belegen (IDoc) kann nach Belieben angepasst werden. Auf diese Weise wird der Versand von IDocs an andere SAP-Systeme oder Web-Adressen (bspw. per E-Mail, HTTP oder XML) möglich. Auch der Austausch von IDoc-Daten via Application Link Enabling (ALE) ist möglich. IDocs lassen sich darüber hinaus im SAP Business Connector verändern.

Welche Eigenschaften vereint der SAP Business Connector?

Dank dem SAP Business Connector (BC) ist die Kommunikation über Schnittstellen zwischen SAP- und Fremdsystemen möglich. Über die enthaltene Bibliothek können Funktionen abgerufen werden. Auf Lizenzkosten oder größere Systemressourcen verzichtet der SAP Business Connector. Alle über BAPI und IDocs genutzten Funktionen können als sichere XML-basierte Services zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Dadurch lassen sich verschiedene IT-Architekturen oder Software-Lösungen (wie z. B. die CPQ-Software calcIT) anbinden, Prozesse optimieren sowie die Effizienz der gesamten Lieferkette steigern.

Was sind mögliche Anwendungsszenarien des SAP Business Connectors?

  • Austausch von Daten zwischen SAP- und Fremdsystemen (z. B. über HTTP(S), FTP oder E-Mail)
  • Zugriff auf Datenquellen im Internet vom SAP-System aus
  • Übermittlung von Lohnsteueranmeldungen und –bescheinigungen an das Finanzamt (z. B. Elster)

Wie sicher ist der SAP Business Connector?

Beim SAP Business Connector greifen zwei unterschiedliche Konzepte ineinander, dadurch wird die Sicherheit gewährleistet. Externe Partner werden per Reverse Invoke eingebunden. Netzwerkverbindungen werden dabei ausschließlich vom Intranet (geschütztes Netz) aus durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus unterstützt der Business Connector das Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) und Client Zertifikate. Via LDAP ist eine verschlüsselte Kommunikation zwischen Server und Client per Transport-Layer-Security-Protocol (TLS) möglich. Die sichere Authentifizierung erfolgt darüber hinaus unter LDAP mit dem Simple Authentication and Security Layer (SASL).

SAP Business Connector (BC) ab dem 31.12.2020 – Migration nötig

Gemäß dem SAP-Hinweis 1094412 endet der Support für den SAP Business Connector zum 31.12.2020. Das bedeutet, dass die Verwendung mit SAP ERP bzw. SAP HANA nach dem 31.12.2020 gut überlegt sein will, denn Unternehmen müssen sich rechtzeitig um die Migration des Business Connectors kümmern. Alternativen können unter anderem lokale Lösungen sowie managed Lösungen (z. B. EDI) sein. SAP selbst bietet mit SAP Process Integration (SAP PI) bzw. SAP Process Orchestration (SAP PO) eine neuere Middleware-Plattformen zur Verbindung eines SAP-Systems mit Non-SAP-Systemen. Die Nutzung dieser Plattform ist allerdings kostenpflichtig.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu abilis GmbH IT-Services & Consulting